In response to New Jersey’s COVID-19 pandemic guidelines, Cape May is opening businesses and services gradually. Learn more Blog

New Council Members Sworn In

Three new council members – Deanna Fiocca, Bill Murray and council veteran Jack Wichterman – were sworn in at Cape May’s annual July 1 reorganization meeting. Councilman Jack Wichterman was voted deputy mayor.

Topping the new council’s agenda? What to do about Convention Hall? Bids came in over the $10.5 million bond ordinance to the tune of $3.15 million. Council met in closed session Tuesday, July 6 for three hours following a workshop meeting and agreed to hold a special meeting Friday, July 8 to introduce an ordinance authorizing the $3.15 million bond. A public hearing on the matter will be held at 7 p.m. Tuesday, July 20 in a regular council session.